Monash Home  Monash Info  News and Events  Campuses and Faculties  Monash University
School of Computer Science and Software Engineering
about courses People research student community internal

Monash University

Monash University

Monash University was founded in Melbourne, Australia, during 1961, with an enrolment of 350 students in five faculties: Arts, Economics and Politics, Engineering, Medicine, and Science. Law was added in 1964, and Education in 1965.

In 1990, Monash University was amalgamated with Chisholm Institute of Technology and the Gippsland Institute of Advanced Education. This resulted in the creation of three faculties: Business, Computing and Information Technology, and Professional Studies.

Monash University now has over 45,000 students spread over six campuses around Melbourne:

In 1998, Monash opened a campus at Sunway, Malaysia, while in 2001, the campus at Johannesburg, South Africa opened.

Monash University offers a breadth and depth of courses and programs unique among Australian universities.

More information about Monash University as a whole is available from the Monash University Home Page.

Some pictures of Monash (Clayton campus) are also available.

Help Contacts Site Map Staff Directory Search
CSSE home
Copyright © 1994-2002 Monash University
Caution - Privacy