|Administration | Research | Teaching | Professional | Personal | Photos | Railways | Site map|
|Central Shunting Yard|
|Main||Australia||Miscellaneous||Rest of World|
|NSW Shunting Yard|
|Main||pre 1924 Steam||Passenger Steam||Pass Cars|
The 27 class were originally built in 1913 by the Hunslet Co. of Leeds, England, as construction engines for the Public Works Department. The 8 engines were taken over by the New South Wales Railways in 1917, and became the G(1204) class.
They are unique in having Walschaert's valve gear driving flat D-slide valves
Between 1929 and 1938 they were given 25 class boilers and obsolete D50 tenders. 2705 is preserved, but the rest were all scrapped by the end of 1966.
Ex-Public Works Department No.5, 2705 was built in 1913, and is now preserved at the Thirlmere Transport Museum.
|This page maintained by John Hurst. |
5977 accesses since 20 Sep 2006, HTML cache rendered at 20110330:1225